Our mission at the FoodInno Institute is to build a collaborative environment of food innovators from all walks of life. FoodInno is a community that connects students, educators, chefs, food start-ups, farmers, and food policy makers to design the next food experience together.

Delicious Innovation

Designing Sustainable Food Futures

At Delicious Innovation, we will begin to bridge the gap between deliciousness and consciousness when it comes to food. We will celebrate the gustatory pleasures of food while also learning to create balance using a systems approach. Our 100+ attendees represent the most innovative and creative individuals in our food chain including farmers, chefs, designers, academics, and more from all across the world.

At Delicious Innovation we will be serving conversations about the needs, values, and aspirations of the people who are tackling the collateral costs associated with the traditional industrial model of our food production—for a more balanced, equitable, and optimal food future.


Subject to change. Check often for updates. 

Lunch, snacks, drinks, and cocktail reception will be provided by FoodInno.

Delicious Innovation: Designing Sustainable Food Futures


May 25, 2017

8:30-10:00 AM Registration + Breakfast

10:00-10:10 AM Opening Remarks

10:10-10:45 AM Opening Keynote by Chef Daniel Patterson

10:45-11:00 AM Deliciousness Innovation Showcase by Lining Yao

11:00-11:30 AM Networking Break

11:30-12:30 PM Cross-Industry Panel: The Journey of Food Through Time

12:30-1:00 PM Global Food, featuring Friends of FoodInno

1:00-2:00 PM Global-Themed Lunch

2:00-3:00 PM Breakout Session I

3:00-3:30 PM Networking Break

3:30-4:30 PM Breakout Session II

4:30-5:00 PM Ending Keynote by Sibella Kraus (SAGE) and Gurvinder Ahluwalia (IBM)

5:00-7:00 PM Cocktail Reception, featuring Ava Winery, Dandelion Chocolate, Don Bugito, Pique tea, and Proyecto Diaz coffee

30+ Innovative Speakers

Daniel Patterson

Chef & Owner, DPG

Jonathan Gold

Food Critic, LA Times

Alice Agogino

Professor, UC Berkeley

Larry Leifer

Professor, Stanford

Soh Kim

Executive Director of Food Design Research, Stanford

Jessica Koslow

Chef & Owner, Sqirl

Sophie Egan

Program Director, The Culinary Institute of America

Preeti Mistry

Chef & Owner, Juhu Beach Club

Dana Frasz

Founder & Director, Food Shift

Graham Gardner

Co-founder, Civil Labs

Ali Bouzari

Co-Founder, Pilot R+D

Henry Wedler

Founder and Director, Accessible Science
Co-Founder, Sensepoint LLC

Henry Hu

CEO, Cafe X

Sibella KrauS

Founder, SAGE

Ron Shigeta

Chief Science Officer, Indie Bio

Bernt Aarset

Professor, NMBU School of Economics and Business

Daniel Jurafsky

Author, The Language of Food  
Professor, Stanford

Judy Hsu

Principal Designer & Researcher, IDEO

Marcel Bogers

Professor, University of Copenhagen

James Ehrlich

Founder, Regen Villages

Michael Frøst

Director, Nordic Food Lab

Matteo Vignoli

Professor, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia

Bonnie  Perhac

Owner, Plate Craft

Doug Hewitt

Co-founder, 1951 Coffee Company

Alec Lee

CEO, Ava Winery

Monica MartiNez

Founder, Don Bugito

Gurvinder Ahluwalia

CTO, Cloud Technical Solutioning at IBM

Fernando Diaz Mendoza

Founder/Captain,  Caffeinated Chaos

Lining Yao

Assistant Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

Mounir Zok

Director of Technology and Innovation, U.S. Olympic Committee

Siri Granum Carson

Associate Professor, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Simon Cheng

Founder & CEO, Pique Tea

Cynthia Jonasson

Chocolate Maker, Dandelion Chocolate

Hailey Zhou

Program Director, FoodInno

victoria jing

Program Director, FoodInno

Brian Wyrwas

CSO, Finless Food

Michael Selden

CEO, Finless Foods

Chaeyoung shin

CTO, Sugarlogix

Inger Elisabeth Måren

Professor, University of Bergen

Daniel Nevers

Director of Programming, KitchenTown

Rusty Schwartz

Founder and CEO, KitchenTown



Ticket sales are now closed. Thank you!



The Atrium, Peterson Building 550

550 Panama Mall
Stanford, CA 94305


Sohyeong Kim
Executive Director of Food Design Research


Lena Hong
Student Representative